Log 5.33: Don’t Forget to Knock Wood

Like a package nobody ordered, Freesia Wolff’s pending birthday was approached with curious detachment.

“If you’re chosen to be the heir, are you gonna change the house around?” asked her sister Forsythia.

“I mean, you do have the edge – you’re the baby and mom still remembers changing your diapers.”

“Maybe,” Freesia answered.

“Or maybe I’ll sell everything and move to Pittsburgh.”

“Pittsburgh’s great,” commented her best friend Ace, who’d just aged up that morning. “Lots of industrial waste.”

He was always saying stuff like that.

“How do you even know that?” she asked.

“How does someone not know about the City of Bridges?”

“And all of those old steel mills..” he went on. “Can you imagine the kind of stuff they have lying around there?”

Freesia sighed.

“What,” he said a bit defensively. “You can do a lot with scrap metal!”

The conversation had become Boring to Freesia so, without further ado, the birthday girl lined up for her candle-blow.

5.35-freesia-cake

She made a wish ..

5.33-cake-2

.. and boldly carried the teeny-tiny-eye gene into the next age.

5.33-freesia-teen-1
And resurrected grandma Coop’s hairdo. ;D

There are a couple sim-things that I loathe that, in doing so, I may have inadvertently invited to the party. Not active loathing, but the more insidious, judgey, “other sims’ problems,” passive sort of loathing — it’s one of those lazy behaviors that you know on some level is gonna come back and bite you in the ass. And since it’s Freesia we’re dealing with, a sim who I am thus far unable to ignore, of course they’d be dredged up and be plopped out, slime-covered, onto the table.

Successful Lineage? No! No, no noo! And that trait.. No!
Successful Lineage? No! And that trait I said I couldn’t stand. Ugh!

It’s cool, though. I mean, how can I resist that face? Clearly I need to get over myself.

. . .

“So,” Ace asked, “what’s the damage?”

*whispers trait*
*whispers trait*

After a moment of poorly-feigned shock, Ace busted up laughing.

“You could at least pretend to be surprised,” Freesia smirked.

Whoa.. no plumming way!
And sweet. Like a sticky baby.
“But you’re, like, the picture of sweet fragility.”

“You finished yet?” Freesia asked.

“Pretty much.” He smiled, and added gently, “don’t take this badly, but, you’ve always been kinda Mean.”

Freesia’s stare went cold. She raised her arm and drew back her hand.

5.35-smack
She wouldn’t..

Ace threw his own arm up instinctively to counter hers.

It was a good thing, too.

5.33-hifive
“Touché!”

If he hadn’t, he might’ve missed the high-five.

26 thoughts on “Log 5.33: Don’t Forget to Knock Wood

      1. Here’s a secret… Listen to her when she says, “Fa NAY? Fa NAY!” and then rants a bit. I never knew what to make of that… then… I realized that is exactly what Jim sounds like when he’s going on about something that bugs him–like junk mail or those solicitor’s phone calls. “Fa NAY?” It’s not so much meanness as it is “I’ve had it with this nonsense! What are they even thinking?”

        Liked by 2 people

      2. And by the way… I adore my heir even more now that she’s gained the Mean trait. She was kinda Cancer-soft before. Now, she’s got a core of steel to support that kind heart of hers. No nonsense.

        Liked by 3 people

        1. Well, not really. But I see your point! And I for sure agree that expecting that the earth will respond to one’s own whims, desires, and needs is the supreme arrogance and has, indeed, led to impending disaster and disastrous neglect of that which we’re here to nurture . And… simlutaneously, what if we don’t interpret the myth as socio-cultural commentary, but from an abstract and energetic perspective?

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Oops! I forgot this was your blog, Raisin! Here I thought I was carrying on my philosophical discussion over at CasusBella2. Ummmm… Back to your regularly scheduled broadcast, everyone! *tucks point of view back under pointy hat*

            Liked by 2 people

  1. That aspiration has been a pain for me too; it was Alexander’s third one and he still hasn’t completed it.

    Ace was so funny in this, going on about the industrial waste and steel in Pittsburgh.

    Since Sims 2 I’ve thought of mean more like everyone was commenting– just more willing to say things that others might censor out, less concerned with hurting feelings, but more concerned with saying things the way they see them.

    Anyway, I know you’ll make Freesia’s new trait a real asset in the story, because you weave a great tale here.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. She is lovely! And now I miss Coop. It is amazing how attached we get to these sims. And I agree with everyone. CT and I have talked a few times about that trait and I see it as blunt/honesty, and strength to stand up and speak her mind. It fits with her kid self.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Oh, wow!! I still love her and her tiny eyes! She’s got a lot of fire in her…as long as she finds a way to channel it, she’ll be just fine. You on the other hand? We shall see about that! Hehe

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

