Intermission: GHOSTS!

I live in a cave so I was shocked at the patch notes for today – they’ve added ghosts!

I was not sure how this was going to affect my legacy lot, if at all yet. But it appears that existing tombstones/urns that aren’t wonky (2 of mine changed from sim names to _______ some time ago so I’m not holding out hope for them) can indeed generate that sim’s ghost.

So, I’ve got 6 tombstones (4 non-wonk) on my lot right now. Day one, at the stroke of midnight, two of them produced long-dead relatives!

These are both "elder death" ghosts.
These are both “elder death” ghosts.

At first I was confused that they were two different colors and thought it might have something to do with aspirations completed, but I now think it’s just mood. Judging by the posture, Garret (green) is “Happy” and Burdock (blue) is “Sad.”

Burdock, who had been our gen two spare, moseyed into the house to use the computer.

I'd say that's definitely "Confidence blue" to match the furniture aura.
I’d say that’s definitely “Confidence blue” to match the furniture aura, now.

He did some dishes for us. Didn’t talk to anyone even though folks were in there eating, and nobody seemed to notice him at all.

Then he haunted (which is the usual “ghost jumps into object, object levitates and shakes” thing), and broke, the bathtub. D:

He became uncomfortable then (guilt? lol) and.. looked up disturbing videos on Youtube?

Maybe he's on Web M.D.
Maybe he’s on Web M.D. That’s definitely a Web M.D. face.

Garrett (Clem’s dad) was more social during his visit. He chatted Clem up a bit. Clem didn’t seem to think anything strange was going on, and it actually put him in a good mood (just the regular ‘great conversation’ buff – no ‘omg I saw a ghost’ behaviors at all).

Garrett then roamed around the lot and fiddled with stuff. I noticed that as he passed the various mood-aura spots in the house his color would change.

Here's a good body shot. Normal form, fading at the knee & hovering slightly when moving from place to place.
Here’s a good body shot. Normal form, fading at the knee & hovering slightly when moving from place to place.

He turned “Inspired blue” when playing with the clay blob, for example.

Ghostly man-boobs, hmmm..
Ghostly man-boobs, hmmm..

He changed his clothes from PJs to his normal everyday outfit after that shot, so sims won’t be stuck wearing whatever they died in for eternity, it seems. 🙂

This bit was groovy  – Garrett was a master painter in life, and I found him out painting on the easel in the graveyard.

Now I'm glad I put that thing out there. :)
Now I’m glad I put that thing out there. 🙂

He was talking to himself as he worked. Ghost voices have kind of a cavernous, echoing thing going on. Pretty neat.

Right about 6AM, there was a “GONG” sound and Burdock leapt back into his tombstone and disappeared in a puff of smoke.

He returned to the stone just before 6AM to await the GONG.
He returned to his stone just before 6AM to await the GONG.
I imagine it will lose its novelty eventually, but this part is really fantastic!
I imagine it will lose its novelty eventually, but this part is really fantastic!

Garrett just continued to paint.. Guess the gong doesn’t cancel the paint action, haha. Wonder how much that painting’s gonna go for? ;D

Ghost painter painting a ghost ship? :)
Ghost painter painting a ghost ship? 🙂

Well, there you have it, lol. My first impressions of the first night after the ghost patch. I’m super curious now how an unhappy or negative-trait ghost would behave, and whether other causes of death affect appearances. Can we rebuild romantic relationships without adding ghosts to the family? Do they count as “friends” for the purposes of promotion requirements? Do they scare children, or sims with certain traits? Do they live forever? Exciting stuff!

Leave a Reply

